top of page
  • Writer's pictureJerusha

Day 27 Too Acquainted with the Dead Sea

(These events occurred on the 27th of June)


Do not -- I repeat, do not -- walk into the dead sea without sandals on like I did. Those deceitful smooth rocks are not smooth. On the plus side, if you cut your foot, the salt water will shock your system so much that it forgets to bleed and forgets to hurt. So you can take your time, float around, and then wash and cover it with something clean later...when your foot will remind you that it is attached to you and very much alive.


Thankfully, while the cut on my foot looks nasty, it did not stopped me from hiking up to cliff-side monasteries and taking notice of lone olive trees in the middle of the desert. The wilderness is very much alive.


Our last meal together was in the sunset in our favourite O Little Town of B. Tonight, as I look at the faces of the twelve companions whom I have grown to know and love, I gave thanks to the Lord for their companionship. This trip would have been very different if it were only three people in the group like it was looking to be in May. As egotistical as it may be, I truly think that God sent those last-minute joiners to complete my group and fund the adventure.


I haven't felt the most prayerful in this whole trip. But tonight I did. Before the night ended, I asked each of our three hosts what they wanted us to tell our churches back home. My friends humoured my request, and just like, three Protestants and seven Catholics gathered around our three Catholic and Melkite hosts to pray, Evangelical style.


O Lord Jesus Christ, for the seeds You have planted, for the work of transformation that You have done here, we give thanks. Please pardon the trespasses of Your Church, may they not detract from the good that You are bringing about through Your people. Rebuke and comfort us, dear Lord. Correct and protect us too from the deceit of the Evil One. May Your will be done, and Your kingdom come.



39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page