top of page
  • Writer's pictureJerusha

Day 28 See You Later

I. Hate. Goodbyes. I was very ready to go home to Vancouver; I missed my housemates, and the things that need processing in my heart and mind has just about reached the boiling point. But I still hate goodbyes especially knowing that this will be the last I will see of many if not all of them. At breakfast, I gave them each a hug and hurried away before the waterworks turned messy. I prefer see you later.


Diane was the first one out and had already left in the middle of the night. I am glad that I was next, and that all the other solo travellers were leaving before the pack-of-five would. That way, nobody is left alone.


Marie and Nizar drove me and my luggages down the slope to the bus-stop so that I don't risk ending up in a pile at the bottom of the hill. Since my Rav-kav (bus card) was a loan, I boarded the bus with exact change of coins, hoping that the bus captain would take pity on me. He did...and as it turns out, the bus that is known to not take cash actually does have a ticketing machine after all! I waved to my hosts to let them know all is well as the bus drove me off to the train station. My heart was warm.


PS: My favourite quote from Nizar, "If you need to use the washroom, it is now or...later."





67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page