top of page
  • Writer's pictureJerusha

The Dusty Sojourner's Journal

Updated: Mar 6, 2020

I am a millennial, or so I am told, even if I don't feel like one. In that case I should start being an affective one and learn how to be web-savvy. When young-ersters are moving on to new social media trends with names I do not know, I am now picking up a new-ish skill (to me) of blogging. (What, no applause?) You are assisting my learning process by visiting for updates here, so thank you for indulging me!


Really, this site is just a more fun way for me to keep my friends, family, and prayer supporters more updated between calls and newsletters. Still, this is a very public platform, so if you find my updates wanting in details, please reach me personally for the juicy bits. You can filter the blog posts by categories (prayer, thanksgiving, info etc.), or by month (e.g. search March2020, when this journal first started). So pick the topics you are more keen in; each post should be a quick 2 to 3 minutes read.


Why "The Dusty Sojournal"? Because the theme of Lent and Ash Wednesday has been occupying much of my first semester here at Regent College, in a good way. I am reminded that we are made of dust, and we are but pilgrims journeying onward to our forever-home. So here is what I am: a dusty sojourner. And this a dusty sojourner's journal - The Dusty Sojournal.


"...for [God] knows how we are formed, He remembers that we are dust." (Psalms 103:14, NIV)


At Chapel today, our chapel leader reminded us that being dust is not a bad thing, it just goes to show how amazing our good God is, who remembers us even when we are dust. It is us who forget that we depend on Him, it is by His breath that we breathe. "Remember, you are dust," because otherwise, we may be tempted to play gods, when there is only one God upon whom all life is dependent. As Walter Brueggermann writes in his article that has that statement as the title, the reminder of Ash Wednesday is first and foremost of God's good gift, before it is of penance. It is a reminder on one hand of our responsibility, vulnerability, dependency, and on the other hand God's generosity, steadfast love, and faithfulness.


The Lord is compassionate and gracious, slow to anger, abounding in love

He will not always accuse, nor will he harbor his anger forever;

he does not treat us as our sins deserve or repay us according to our iniquities.

For as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is his love for those who fear him; as far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us.

As a father has compassion on his children,

so the Lord has compassion on those who fear him;

for he knows how we are formed, he remembers that we are dust.


-- Psalms 103:8-14 (NIV)


So in this season before Easter, be reminded to take better care of this Earth God gave us and the neighbours who hate us, because we are all made up of the same stuff - dust.


Prayer hut outside Regent College

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page