top of page
  • Writer's pictureJerusha

Day 6 Your name means…

Updated: Jun 7, 2022

We learned about Judaism from two Jewish teachers today. They translate Jewish into Christianese and helped us understand both their world and ours better. I am excited for parts two and three in the next two days. We went onto a high point next to Mount of Olives, saw lush green on one side and the desert on the other side. You could step into the desert and out again like two sides of a skip rope. Did you know that Jerusalem is not sitting on the highest point of the mountain ridges, but rather is alleviated in a basin surrounded by higher grounds?


I received a special gift today: Twice, I had the pleasure of seeing a face light up when I introduced my name. More often than not, my name is mispronounced, misspelled, or made fun of. At best, I still often repeat my name and spell it out, which I have gotten into the habit of doing. I then sometimes get to explain my name and what it means to my parents who gave it to me. Today, I got to hear what my name means to Hebrew speakers, and with such appreciation and excitement for the name that it brings water to my eyes. It was not just what they said, but the way that they say it, like it was their favourite name in the whole wide world, even if for just that moment.

He says, my name means the possession that you get because you are connected to your family or the land, having inheritance that is passed down from generation to generation.


She says, my name means “having a stake!” in tradition (said with a close fist and an assertive expression at first, followed by a contented smile, like one savouring a good glass of wine).

Being the kid of two faith warriors, I have come to realise that I have a very precious spiritual inheritance. But today, today I know it to be written in my name. I have a stake in my family inheritance.



120 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page